Experimental Dialogue-A Failed Biology Test

Standard

“It’s going to be okay,” said Lisa.

“How can it? How can it be okay after I failed that biology test? I can’t retake it, you know,” I said.

“Well, no. But failing a test isn’t the end of the world.” I scowled. I hate it when grown-ups say things like that!

“Well, obviously not,” I said.  “What, do you think I’m blind?”

“No, but we’re all blind to some things some of the time,” said Lisa. I sighed. I think I knew what she meant, but I didn’t want her to go all philosophical on me.  All I wanted was to forget about that test!

Lisa was quiet. I hated to admit it, but that was one of those moments when I really liked her. Too bad what she said next had to ruin it.

“We really should get back to your homework.” I scowled again.

“What’s the point?  I already failed this test!  Homework won’t magically make that not happen!”

“Well, no it won’t,” Lisa agreed. “But it will keep you from failing more tests in the future.” I rolled my eyes. Homework was the last thing I wanted to do at that moment.

“Let’s look at it this way,” she continued. “Think about how bad you feel now. Do you want to feel this bad in the future?” I immediately shook my head, even though I was pretty sure where she was going with this. I couldn’t help myself.  I hoped I would never feel this way again!

“Well, then, if you do your homework now, you’ll be less likely to fail a test in the future. Let’s start with your biology homework.”

I winced. I was hoping I wouldn’t have to look at my biology textbook for awhile. I knew I would have to sooner or later, so I got my biology textbook out of my backpack.  I quickly put it back, because I simply could not look at it!

“Can’t we wait a little while?” I asked Lisa. “I don’t care what we do instead.  We can even do other homework.”  I just couldn’t bear to look at that textbook!

“Well, we could,” said Lisa. “But you know you’ll have to eventually do this homework. Wouldn’t you feel better if you started now? Then you wouldn’t have to keep worrying about it.”  I thought for a minute, then shook my head.

“No,” I said. “I want to wait a little longer.”

“Suit yourself,” said Lisa.  “Let’s work on your math homework instead.”  I sighed, but took out my math textbook.  I knew I couldn’t take back what I said about doing other homework.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

