Happy Thanksgiving, Hazel and Roberta!

Standard

“Happy Thanksgiving!” said Roberta, knowing she needed to make up for her lack of help.
“You, too!” said Hazel, unable to hide her annoyance.
“What do you want to do?” asked Roberta, trying to keep things cheerful. “The turkey’s in the oven, the sweet potatoes are made, and so are the pies and the green bean casserole.” Hazel rolled her eyes. Most of the tasks Roberta had just named she had not at all contributed to.
“Me?!” asked Hazel. “I’m going to rest! I’ve been working my butt off all day!”
“Hey, and I haven’t?” asked Roberta. She knew she hadn’t worked as much as Hazel, but there was no way she would admit it.
“Not as much as me,” said Hazel, though she really hoped she didn’t have to state the obvious like that.
“Oh, yeah?” challenged Roberta. “Who made the green bean casserole?” She knew her own tasks could never compete with Hazel’s, but she had to try. She wasn’t going to back down that easily.
“That’s one of the easiest dishes you can make!” protested Hazel. “And it’s basically all you did.”
“What are you talking about?! I helped make the pumpkin pie, too!”
“Just the easy tasks,” said Hazel, rolling her eyes. “All you did was take the easiest tasks from me! You didn’t help me at all! Now, go see if there’s anything else to do while I rest.””You sure?” said Roberta. “I doubt I’ll find anything!” Roberta did not plan to look very hard.
“I’m sure you will,” said Hazel. “If you look hard enough.” She smirked after this last statement. She knew Roberta hardly ever looked hard enough, unless what she was looking for only concerned her.
“I don’t think so,” said Roberta, but she left the kitchen so Hazel could go

Leave a Reply

